Magia Cum Laude

from Conrad Hamel

A family game for 2 — & magicians
8 years and up

© 45 to 60 min.

Everybody knows the big magicians no matter if they arve called Merlin, Gandalf or
Gargamel. Some are even called after therr origin, as for example the magician by Oz.
That those big ones other will follow, once magician academes were founded. A lot of
You know the academy of Ankh Morphok or also Hogwarts. Also in the local world
Wiercans in the small town of Babas such an academy was founded more than a
hundred years ago and there where alveady tramed some magicians. The education ends
traditional-with with a magician's examination in the highest tower of the academy -
called Magiasuda. So, also today, the best magical apprentices of Babas have also
gathered agamn to get therr final examination and to become, perhaps, a new big
magician. However, this doesn't happen without chicaneries. From the masters of the
academy one was chosen to supervise and examine the apprentices. During the
examination magic is proibited for him. The other masters (and this are the players)
can move the apprentices and the chosen master in the tower. Some are preferved, the
other disadvantaged, only to fulfill therr own goals at the end.

Components:

e This instructions

e 1 game board

e 1 examiner

* & apprentices

* 60 crystals (21 white and blue and 18 red)

e 108 cards, split in:
° 19 apprentice spells (scrolls with & crystals)
° 20 master orders (open books with 5 crystals)
o 60 movement cards (72 with stretch goals)

o 9 mission cards

Goal:

The player who gets the most victory points wins.



Setup:

The game board is placed on the table. It shows the top floor of the tower of the
academy of Babas. The crystals are arranged, each on a tile, so that on every tile, except
the 7 tiles with the portals, is one crystal. Place the examiner (big white figure) on the
tile in the middle with the desk. The & apprentices are placed to the respective oriels of
the tower that corresponds with their color. Split the cards in 4 piles - movement cards
(white back), apprentice spells (grey back), master orders (brown back) and mission
cards (black back). Every apprentice gets an open apprentice spell on their suitable tile.
Every player gets one master order and a mission card covered up in front of them. The
rest of these three piles is no longer needed in this game, and laid back in the box.
Finally each player is dealt out a hand of 4 movement cards. The remaining pile of
movement cards is placed next to the board.

Starting player is the one with the longest beard.

The players are not the apprentices!!! From now on players are called masters!
By reading the instructions the first time, ignore the paragraphs in red.

Game play:

Each apprentice has a spell for examination, which needs & crystals in different
compositions - fire magic (red), water magic (blue) and/or aerial magic (white). For the
fulfillment of a spell they must move around in the tower to collect the matching
crystals. Every tile in the tower is loaded with one crystal. So, every master can move

every apprentice and the examiner. In order to move, you need the movement cards.

The order of the steps in one turn is the following:
1. Name, who you want to move (which apprentice or the examiner)
Draw cards (only if you named an apprentice)
Decide, how to move
Play movement cards
Take the crystal (if available)
Additional action (2/star/crystal) (only if you named an apprentice)
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1. Name, who you want to move:

You can choose the red, black, yellow, green, blue or violet apprentice as well as the
examiner. To move an apprentice in step 4, you need one movement card for one step.
So if you play three cards you can also move the named apprentice three tiles further. If
you want to move the examiner be clear to have at least three cards in your hand. Once
you've decided who you want to move, say his color.

If you neither can move an apprentice nor the examiner, you may get lucky to draw the

right movement cards in step 2.
2. Draw cards (only if you named an apprentice):

Depending on which tile the apprentice whom you'd like to move starts, you receive new
cards:

® From a white owl| tile - you draw 2 cards of the draw pile.

® From a gray stoat tile — you draw the top 2 cards of the discard pile,

®  From a black dragon tile — you draw one card face down of another player.
If you want to move the examiner, you don't get any cards.

Benny would like to move the red apprentice who s still on his starting tile. Because the
tile is white (The starting tiles of the blue, red and yellow apprentice are white, the
starting tiles of the black, green and purple one are black), he draws two cards of the
draw pile.

A little later in the play Benny would like to move the black apprentice who is also
standing on a black tile. He draws a card face down from Carolyn.

3. Decide, how to move:

You decided to move an apprentice.
Now you have again two possibilities how to move.
*  You can move an apprentice with movement cards of his matching color one step
in any direction (Move by color) or
e You can move any apprentice one step in the direction of the matching tapestry.
The portals do have both colors of the adjacent tapestries. (Move by direction)
It is not possible to mix the two ways to move. Either move by color (of the apprentice)
or by direction (color of the tapestries).



You decided to move the examiner.
You have also two possibilities how to move.
® For three movement cards of any color, the examiner can move in one line until
he hits an apprentice or the wall. If he hits the wall, he can collect the crystal
he’s standing on right now (if there is any). If he meets an apprentice there will
be an 0 examination.
® For three movement cards in one color, the examiner can move directly to the

tile of the matching apprentice and do an O examination.
4. Play movement cards:

Per tile you want to move an apprentice, you have to play one more card from your
hand.

And how does this look like, If | have, for example, 2 green cards on my hand?
With two green cards you can move either the green apprentice up to two tiles in any
divection, or you can move any apprentice along a line in the divection of the green

tapestry.

And with a green and a yellow one, how can [ move?
With a green and a yellow one, you can move an apprentice only by divection of the
matching color of the tapestry. So first, in divection of the green and after that in

dirvection of the yellow tapestry (or vice versa).

You can play as many cards, as you hold in your hand. The limit of movement cards in
your hand is 7. If all cards are matching, you can move an apprentice up to 7 tiles, but
after that you don’t have any cards left in your hand.

It is not possible to finish the movement on the same tile, the apprentice started his

turn.

To move the examiner instead, you need to play three cards as mentioned above.




5. Get the crystal:

You have to collect the crystal on the tile, the apprentice ends his movement, for his
spell.

It is placed on a matching space on his scroll. If the apprentice can't use this color (any
more), the master automatically gets this crystal in his own stock.

If the examiner ends his movement on a tile with a crystal, this master gets it in his

own stock.

Andrea has announced to move the red apprentice (Step 1). After she has drawn two
cards of the draw pile (the apprentice s standing on a white tile (Step 2)), she plays a
yellow and a black card (Step 4) and moves the apprentice first in the divection of the
yellow tapestry, then in the divection of the black one. Now, the red apprentice is
standing on a white tile agam. The red apprentice collects the blue crystal on that tile
(Step 5) and places 1t on his spell, because he still needs it. By playing two cards with
different colors she automatically decrded to move by divection (Step 3).

6. Additional action (only if you named an apprentice):

Additional actions are marked by symbols on some of the movement cards. There are

three possible special actions, which are marked with a star, a crystal or a two.

* If you play a movement card with a star, the examiner is also moved one tile
after the apprentice move. Apprentice and examiner can move in different

directions. The examiner collects the crystal, he's moving on.

# With a crystal on a card, you can take a crystal from another masters stock or

give him one from your own stock.

2 If there is a two on a movement card you play, you get a full second turn in a

row, without step 2: Draw cards. (In that case you can collect two crystals, but

you only get cards once.)

You can move an apprentice in the first turn and the examiner or another
apprentice in the second one. In the second turn you are able to use another

special action.



e Only one additional action per turn can be played. If you play two cards or more
with an additional action symbol, you have to choose one of them.
e The additional action has always to be accomplished if possible.

e Within an examiner movement, additional actions are not valid.

Special locations and situations:

Portals:

From a portal you can jump to any other portal. It is also possible to jump with an
apprentice from an orial to the middle and finish the game. Each apprentice and the
examiner can use each portal. To jump does not count as a movement action and
doesn't cost any cards. The portal, the apprentice jumps to, doesn't have to be free. In
this case he will have a meeting.

Desk:

You can use the desk in the middle of the board to finish the game prematurely, as soon
as both apprentices shown on the mission card have fulfilled their spells and one of them
reaches it.

Apprentice meets apprentice:
If an apprentice moves on a tile with another apprentice, he can take one crystal, which
this one has already collected, presumed the apprentice can still use it for his spell.

—

If he meets several apprentices on one tile, he can take a crystal from everybody, whose

spell is not yet fulfilled. The masters can't get any crystals in this way.

Apprentice meets examiner (examination):
If an apprentice moves directly on the tile with the examiner, or the examiner meets an
apprentice, there is immediately an examination situation.
® If the apprentice has not collected all necessary crystals of his spell yet, he will
lose one crystal by active masters’ choice and the master puts it back to any
empty tile on the board, or alternatively, the apprentice gets a crystal from the
active masters stock, if he can still use it.
® If the apprentice has collected all the necessary crystals within the meeting, he
has passed his exam. His spell is turned by 90°, to make clear that apprentice
has fulfilled his exam. No more crystals can be taken from him by now.



If one master additionally has completed his mission card at this time, the game ends
immediately and the finishing master is credited for finishing 2 victory points (VP). If
two or more masters fulfilled their mission cards the same time, each of them is
credited with 1 VP only. A master can end the game also it's not his/ her turn.

If the examiner meets several apprentices, each of them who fails the exam, loses a
crystal or gets one by choice and each of them who passes, fulfills his spell.

If you meet another apprentice and the examiner on one tile, you don’t do anything

with the apprentice. You just have your examination.

Fulfillment of an apprentice spell:

If a spell is fulfilled in an examination, it is turned by 90°, to make clear this apprentice
passed. No more crystals can be pinched from this spell. As soon as two spells are
fulfilled, the game could be finished prematurely, while a master with an apprentice of
the color on his mission card meets the examiner or the desk in the middle. In the end,
every spell which is fulfilled or at least completed counts 5 VP. Uncompleted spells don't
count anything.

Fulfillment of the master order:

If you have collected exactly the 5 crystals of your master order, you have the possibility
to fulfill the order by uncovering it. From that point on, no more crystals can be taken
or given. You have the advantage of 8 VP, but you will not have any additional actions
(Step &) any more. Also every move you'd get a crystal is prohibited. The master order
can be fulfilled any time on players turn, as long you have exactly the 5 matching

crystals.



End of game:

The game ends, either
® If both apprentices on the mission card of a player have completed their spells
and one of these apprentices meets either the examiner or the desk in the middle
to put down his work there. A master can end a game also, if it’s not his/her
turn.
* The draw pile is played through. Then the examination time has run out.
It is not necessary to complete the master order to finish the game, but you will have a

lot more VP.

Carolyn has moved the green apprentice on a tile with the yellow apprentice and the
examiner. She can’t take a crystal from the yellow apprentice, as long as the examiner is
on the same tile. Because the green apprentice is missing one white crystal she gave him
one from her stock. The spell of the green apprentice now is completed, but as the green
apprentice alveady met the examiner, he can’t pass the exam successtully this tumm.
Danvel now moves the blue apprentice to the examiner as well. Because his order is
completed the spell of the blue apprentice is fulfilled now. As Carolyn has the blue
apprentice on her mission card beside the green one, she uncovers her mission card,
finishes the game prematurely and recerves two victory points. Now, all recerived VP are
counted. The player with the most VP wins the game.

Changes in a 2-player game:

If only 2 players play the game, there is a small change in setup. Everybody receives his
master order and his mission card as known.
* In addition, one master order card is uncovered. There you can see a number
from 1 to 4.
*  On your mission card, you can find the 4 colors of the apprentices you don’t
need, in the four corners, marked with numbers as well.
* Each of the both players additionally has to fulfill the spell of the apprentice
whose color matches the number of the uncovered master order card.
* The additional apprentice has to complete his spell as well to finish the game. He
is equal to both other apprentices on the mission card, counts the same points
and can finish the game as well, when he submits his spell to the examiner if both

others are ready as well.



You have, for example, the mission, to bring the yellow and black apprentices to therr
success. On the mission card you can find the missing colors in following order: violet—
ved — blue — green. The additional master order drawn, shows a 3. You have to
complete the spell of the blue apprentice as well to finish the game.

FAQ:

What (s the master order for?

Every player has to fulfill a master order by secret with the crystals, the apprentices
can't place on their spells, and the crystals the examiner collects (Examiner movement
or Special action star). If a master has fulfilled his order at the end of the game, he gets
8 victory points. However, the accumulated crystals can get lost by the additional action
“crystal’.

If the order is not completed in the end, each of the necessary 5 crystals counts a
victory point, for every crystal, which has been collected too much or from the wrong
color, counts one point minus. The master order does not have to be fulfilled to end the

game.

What are the wission cards for?

On the mission cards is shown which two apprentices count VP for that master in the
end. Each completed spell, matching with the mission card is worth s victory points.

Can you give an example, how to count the victory points?

Therefore another example:

A player has the two apprentices red and black on his mission card. Both completed
therr spell and the player finishes the game by meeting red with the examiner. He is
credited for every spell 5 points and for finishing 2 points. Furthermore he has the
combination of 3 white and 2 blue crystals on his master order. He has collected 2
white, 2 red and 1 blue crystal at the end. Because the order was not completed here
there are no 8 VP and the crystals are counted imdividually. He gets for 2 white ones
and the blue crystal a total of 3 victory points. Unfortunately, he has another two red
crystals, which will cost 2 points. He endson 5+ 5 +2 +3 -2 =15 VP,

Is there a hand card [imit?

Yes, the hand card limit is 7. If you have more than 7 cards at the end of your turn,
you have to discard as many cards as you have just 7 cards on your hand left.

What, if there is a tie? Who has won?
In this case, the player who has collected more crystals on the spells of his favorite

apprentices Wins.



If there is still a tie, both players have to share the victory.

Where do | get victory points for?

There are victory points for:

Per apprentices spell

Completed master order

Finish the game

Every matching crystal on the uncompleted master order
Every other crystal on the uncompleted master order

5 VP

8 VP

2 VP (1 VP if tied)
1 VP

1 VP



